Homepage > Joss Whedon’s Tv Series > Firefly > News > Firefly DVD Release Date (Dec. 9) Officially Announced
« Previous : Radio Buffy Show #86 - New Mp3s - OFF AIR
     Next : Eliza Dushku - Arena Magazine Scans »

From Sciscoop.com


Firefly DVD Release Date (Dec. 9) Officially Announced

Saturday 25 October 2003

From the FOX press release : Journey to the wild western space frontier when Fox Home Entertainment presents "Buffy" creator Joss Whedon’s FIREFLY THE COMPLETE SERIES DVD COLLECTION on December 9. Set 500 years in the future, FIREFLY combines western and sci-fi genres. It revolves around the space adventures of the crew of the Serenity, a small transport ship, led by their captain Malcolm "Mal" Reynolds, played by Nathan Fillion ("Two Guys, a Girl and a Pizza Place"). Timed to coincide with the "Buffy" Season Five DVD Collection release, the collectible four-disc DVD set is available for the suggested retail price of $49.98 U.S./$69.98 Canada and features three never-before-seen episodes, multiple featurettes, a gag reel, deleted scenes, an Easter egg and multiple commentaries. Prebook is November 12.

SERIES SYNOPSIS : Set 500 years in the future, in the wake of a universal civil war, FIREFLY centers on the crew of Serenity, a small transport spaceship that doesn’t have a planet to call home. Captain Malcolm "Mal" Reynolds (Nathan Fillion), a defeated soldier who opposed the unification of the planets by the totalitarian governed Alliance, will undertake any job — legal or not—to stay afloat and keep his crew fed.

Venture to Sci-Fi’s New Wild Frontier in Joss Whedon’s FIREFLY THE COMPLETE SERIES

Sci-Fi Adventure Western Series Blasts Off on DVD December 9 from Fox Home Entertainment Featuring Three Never-Before-Seen Episodes

FIREFLY THE COMPLETE SERIES DVD Special Features and Disc Content Specifics : All FIREFLY episodes are compiled on 4 dual-layered discs (pan and scan, aspect ratio 1.33 :1) and feature audio commentary. Episodes are presented in English Dolby Surround, French Dolby Surround and Spanish Dolby Surround with the option of English and Spanish subtitles. In addition, the following special features are exclusive to each disc :

Firefly The Complete Series Airdate

Disc 1 Serenity Part 1 & 2 12/20/02 The Train Job 9/20/02 Bushwhacked 9/27/02

Bonus Features Commentary : Serenity Part 1 & 2, The Train Job

Disc 2 Shindig 11/1/02 Safe 11/8/02 Our Mrs. Reynolds 10/4/02 Jaynestown 10/18/02

Bonus Features Commentary : Shindig

Disc 3 Out Of Gas 10/25/02 Ariel 11/15/02 War Stories 12/6/02 Trash (unaired)

Bonus Features Commentary : Out of Gas, War Stories

Disc 4 The Message (unaired) Heart of Gold (unaired) Objects in Space 12/13/02

Bonus Features Commentary : Objects in Space, The Message Featurettes : Making of "Here How it Was" and "Serenity : The Tenth Character" Joss Whedon Set Tour Alan Tudyk’s Audition Gag Reel Joss Sings the "Firefly" theme Deleted Scenes Easter egg : Adam Baldwin sings "Hero of Canton"

A recognized industry leader, Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment is the marketing, sales and distribution company for all Fox film and television programming on VHS and DVD as well as video acquisitions and original productions for the U.S. and Canada. Each year the Company introduces hundreds of new and newly repackaged products, which it services to more than 70,000 retail outlets - from mass merchants and warehouse clubs to specialty stores and e-commerce - throughout North America. Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment is a unit of Fox Filmed Entertainment, a Fox Entertainment Group company. # # #

For artwork requests, visit www.foxpressroom.com or contact : Stephanie Young/Adrienne Simic Media Profile youngs@mediaprofile.com / adrienne@mediaprofile.com Tel : (416) 504-8464 Fax : (416) 504-4042

FIREFLY THE COMPLETE SERIES DVD Price : $49.98 U.S./$69.98 Canada Street Date : December 9, 2003 Pre-Book Date : November 12, 2003 Total Running Time : 675 minutes DVD Catalogue Number : 2008929 U.S. Rating N/A Closed Captioned : Yes