Homepage > Joss Whedon’s Tv Series > Firefly > News > "Serenity" Movie is a Nebula Awards Winner
« Previous : Sarah Michelle Gellar - "Full N’ Soft" Maybelline Ad 1999 - On The Set - High Quality Photos
     Next : Gina Torres - "Five Fingers" Movie - Cbsnews.com Review »



"Serenity" Movie is a Nebula Awards Winner

Sunday 7 May 2006, by Webmaster

Winners of this year’s Nebula Awards, presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, were announced this evening, Saturday May 6, 2006, in Tempe, Arizona.

# Camouflage, Joe Haldeman (Analog; Ace Books)

# "Magic for Beginners", Kelly Link (Magic for Beginners Small Beer Press; F&SF Sep 2005)

# "The Faery Handbag", Kelly Link (The Faery Handbag Viking; ed. Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling)

# "I Live With You", Carol Emshwiller (F&SF Mar 2005)

# Serenity, Joss Whedon

# Valiant: A Modern Tale of Faerie, Holly Black (Simon & Schuster)

As previously announced, Harlan Ellison was presented the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award, and William F. Nolan was named Author Emeritus. Connie Willis was Toastmaster.

This is the first year for SFWA’s Andre Norton Award, created to honor young adult SF/F novels and named in honor of the late SFWA Grand Master. While not technically a Nebula Award, it is voted on by members in the same way the Nebula Awards are.

All winners were present except for Carol Emshwiller, whose award was accepted by Gordon Van Gelder, and Joss Whedon, whose award was accepted by Michael Cassutt. Featured presenters included David Weber and Eric Flint, who described the influence Andre Norton had on their lives and careers, before presenting the Andre Norton Award, and Richard Curtis and Neil Gaiman, who separately introduced Grand Master Award winner Harlan Ellison.

Kelly Link is the 9th person to win two Nebulas in the same year; Connie Willis is previously the most recent double winner, for Doomsday Book and "Even the Queen" in 1993, while Greg Bear and Roger Zelazny won awards in the same categories as Kelly Link, Bear in 1984 for "Hardfought" and "Blood Music", Zelazny in 1966 for "He Who Shapes" and "The Doors of His Face, the Lamps of His Mouth".