Homepage > Joss Whedon’s Tv Series > Buffy The Vampire Slayer > News > Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 5 DVD Cover Art
« Previous : Angel 5x04 Hell Bound - Summary
     Next : Angel 5x07 - Spoilers »

From Tvshowsondvd.com

Buffy The Vampire Slayer

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 5 DVD Cover Art

Saturday 20 September 2003, by Webmaster

Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Season 5 Release Information:

Studio: 20th Century Fox Release Type: Season Boxed Set Release Date: 12/09/2003 Number of Discs: 6 Number of Episodes: 22 Running Time: 990 mins Retail Price: $59.98 (US$) $89.98 (CAN$)

Audio/Video Information:

Video: Full Frame (1.33:1) Audio: English - Dolby Surround Spanish - Dolby Surround French - Dolby Surround Subtitles: Spanish, English


Things kick off in a big way during Buffy’s sophomore year at UC Sunnydale when she meets the legendary Count Dracula and finds out that she has a 15 year-old sister named Dawn. To Buffy’s surprise, Dawn isn’t really her sister. Dawn is actually The Key whom Buffy has to protect to prevent evil forces from using her to unleash Hell in Sunnydale. In a truly epic year, Buffy’s mother Joyce passes away. Riley leaves town because he is upset that Buffy won’t return his love. We begin see kinder, gentler Spike around town. As a matter of fact, Buffy learns that Spike has a crush on her when he dumps Harmony. After what anyone would consider a horrible year in Buffy’s life, things come to fruition when Glory kidnaps Dawn to use her power to open up an evil dimension. This of course leads to the martyr death of Buffy as she jumps from Glory’s ritual structure and closes that dimensional portal opened by Dawn’s blood.

Episodes included are: "Buffy vs. Dracula", "Real Me", "The Replacement", "Out Of My Mind", "No Place Like Home", "Family", "Fool For Love", "Shadow", "Listening To Fear", "Into The Woods", "Triangle", "Checkpoint", "Blood Ties", "Crush", "I Was Made To Love You", "The Body", "Forever", "Intervention", "Tough Love", "Spiral", "The Weight Of The World", and "The Gift".

This release is Full Frame (1.33:1), as originally braodcast in the U.S. Creator/Executive Producer/Writer/Director Joss Whedon has stated that this is how the show was composed and should be presented.


Disc 1: Commentary for "Real Me" by writer David Fury and director David Grossman Script for "The Replacement"
Disc 2: Script for "Fool For Love" Commentary for "Fool For Love" by writer Doug Petrie
Disc 3: Script for "Into The Woods" Featurettes: "Buffy Abroad" (5.00) "Demonology - A Slayer’s Guide" (10:00) "Casting Buffy" (10:00) "Action Heroes! - The stunts of Buffy" (10:00) Buffy Series Outtakes
Disc 4: Script for "Checkpoint" Commentary for "I Was Made To Love You" by writer Jane Espenson
Disc 5: Commentary for "The Body" by writer/director Joss Whedon
Disc 6: Featurettes: "The Story of Season 5" (30:00) "Natural Causes" (10:00) "Spotlight on Dawn" (10:00) Still Gallery (approx. 50 static images) Interactive Game Trailer: "Buffy Videogame Trailer" DVD-ROM Buffy Demon Guide